SILENCE = CONSENT

Remembering Chris

Yesterday, I got the news that one of my good friends, Christopher Alan Trueheart, was dead.  According to news reports, he’d gotten into a domestic dispute with his partner and was brutally murdered.  His sister went to his apartment when she hadn’t heard from him.  She called the police and they discovered his body.

Chris was one of the sweetest people I know.  When people say “he wouldn’t hurt a fly”, Chris personified that.  He was humble, quiet, mild-mannered and just a downright nice guy.  He was a loyal friend.  And if by chance he did hurt someone’s feelings, he was swift to apologize.  He lived his life at peace with all who were around him.

I remember his love for cars, comics and old school r&b.  He loved movies  (Sci-Fi fanatic) and old television shows.  He made me see that life didn’t have to be complicated.  He showed me that being a successful man doesn’t have to be complicated.  In a lot of ways I admire him.  He knew how to enjoy every single day.  It was almost as though he lived knowing a secret about life that nobody else knew… life doesn’t have to be hard, it’s all in how you respond to things.

Christopher Trueheart lived up to his name.  He had a True Heart.  When he loved, he loved.  He was totally unpretentious.  He didn’t feel he had to try and impress people.  He was comfortable in his own skin.  He lived and let live.  I just can’t understand why someone so beautiful, someone who possessed such a sweet spirit had to die so brutally.  I will miss him.  I will forever wonder what other lessons I could have learned from his example.  An amazing man; gone too soon.

RIP my friend.  To be absent from the body is to be present with GOD.  I will never forget you.

Leave a Reply

